My First Ever – Guinness Choc Cupcakes

Hi!

I thought it’d be a good idea to start blogging about my journey through food now that I have quite a bit of spare time since leaving my investment banking job.

I’m really looking forward to moving to Paris in January and starting the French cuisine course I’ve enrolled into at a culinary institute in the 6th arrondisement. But till then, I’ll be teaching myself a bit while at home in London, Kuwait and perhaps St. Petersburg.

I’m starting with relatively baby steps here with Guinness Chocolate cupcakes(inspired by Nigella’s recipe). An ex-housemate’s girlfriend had made the cake for his birthday and it was delicious. But I think they’re much cuter as cupcakes. Actually, everything is cuter as a cupcake. Possibly even Gordon Brown. Or maybe not.

m_IMG_5244

m_IMG_0135

My first batch was a bit of a mess as I wanted to see how they’d turn out without using cupcake cases (not one of my finest ideas). It tasted just as good as the cake – the Guinness gives the chocolatey-ness an extra depth, and the cream cheese icing complements it wonderfully with a bit of tangy sweetness. But the texture is too dense and damp to hold together by itself. Luckily I had enough cake batter left to bake another batch.

I had baked these as a thank you gift for my sweet old neighbours who took me into their flat while I was locked out of my own before I could get too desperate for the loo.

PS: I’ll surely be making some for my nearest and dearest soon. You know who you are xx

Recipe
Makes a dozen cupcakes
Cake:
125ml Guinness
125g unsalted butter
35g cocoa powder
200g caster sugar
70ml sour cream
1 egg
0.5 tbsp vanilla essence
135g plain flour
1.5 tsp bicarb. of soda

Cream cheese frosting:
150g cream cheese (philadelphia or similar)
75g icing sugar
65ml double cream

Preheat oven to 180 degrees. Place cupcake cases in a 12 hole cupcake tin.
Pour the Guinness into a large pot, add the butter (hacked up in small peices) and heat until melted. Whisk in the cocoa and sugar. In a separate mixing bowl, beat the sour cream with the eggs and vanilla and then pour into the brown butter + Guinness mixture and whisk in the flour and bicarbonate of soda.
Pour the batter into the cupcake cases, 3/4 full each, and bake for 20-30 mins. The top of the cake should be bouncy under slight pressure. Leave to cool completely.
Now onto the frosting. Whip the cream cheese gently until smooth, sieve over the icing sugar and then beat them both together. Add the cream and beat again until it turns into a spreadable consistency. Spread a good fat layer of the frosting over each cupcake and bob’s your uncle.

Comments
3 Responses to “My First Ever – Guinness Choc Cupcakes”
  1. Debanuj says:

    Awesome article……you surely have what’s required to be a famous writer…..and ofcourse a famous cook as well….

    And i know you meant me when you wrote that you are gonna make pancakes for your nearest & dearest..;)..Thank you so much….

    Cheers!

    Debanujda

  2. ananyah says:

    hmmmmm cupcakeeeees! I love cupcakes! Send me the recipe xoxo

  3. Shmii says:

    Debanujda – Haha thanks. Not sure how famous I’d like to be but if it comes hand in hand with fortune then I’ll take it! And you’ll have to bring the family over to London for some Guinness cupcakes as I doubt there’s any Guinness in Fintas co-op🙂

    Michelle – Have done! It’s Nigella Lawson’s recipe which you can find at http://www.nigella.com/recipe/recipe_detail.aspx?rid=20552

    I’ve just used the cake dough to make into cute lil cupcakes. Enjoy! xx

Leave a Reply

