Green Curry Fried Rice with Chicken

Chicken isn’t my favourite meat. However, since my new-found non-vegetarianism I have fallen head over heals with KFC. The variety meal for lunch today, complete with fried chicken, hot wings, popcorn chicken, chips and full fat coke, was one of the most satisfying meals ever. Why hadn’t I discovered this bounty of goodness before? The colonol would be proud.

It didn’t take long for me to start feeling a little on the rancid side after my unashamed binge on fat, fat, sugar, fat, salt and carbs. I’d already planned to cook chicken tonight for Shmini, one of my bezzies. I should’ve binged at Maccie D’s instead.

Pushing rancid feeling aside, I started pulling things together for a thai green curry fried rice since I already had quite a few of the ingredients in my cupboards and fridge. I feel exceptionally chuffed whenever I use up stuff lying about or tucked away. So today, I was very chuffed. The chicken in the recipe can be substituted by prawns or monkfish if you’re feeling flash, or turned veggie with some baby pea aubergine, peppers and beans.

I used extra long grain basmati which my folks brought over for me from Kuwait. Being a big rice-fiend, I feel the need to cook everything with Basmati. I’m not a particular fan of Jasmine rice (it rarely ever smells like Jasmine. What’s up with that?). But Basmati…it’s like the Divine Goddess ruling over all the other rice underlings. Yes, I heart Basmati.

m_IMG_6481

m_IMG_6486

m_IMG_6524

Recipe

2 cups cooked white rice, cooled (Basmati all the way!)
1 shallot, thinly sliced across into rings
2 tbsp thai green curry paste
1 garlic clove, finely chopped
1 lemongrass stalk, tender inner part only, finely chopped
4-5 kaffir lime leaves (freeze dried ones work just fine)
2 chicken breast fillets, chunky cubes
Handful of frozen peas
2/3 cup thick coconut milk
2 tbsp fish sauce
juice of half a lime
2 red birds eye chillies
small bunch of plump and pretty basil leaves
oil to cook

1) Crispy shallot rings: Heat 25g butter in a non-stick wok or pan over medium heat. When heated through fry the sliced shallots, stirring constantly so they do not catch and burn, for about 5-6 minutes till golden brown. Let cool on a kitchen towel aside. It’ll crisp up once cooled down.

2) Green thai paste sauce: Heat 1.5 tbsp veggie oil over medium heat. Fry the green curry paste for a few minutes, add in the garlic and lemongrass and fry for another 2 minutes. Throw in the kaffir lime leaves, chicken and peas, and stir fry for 3-5 minutes until chicken is just firm. Pour in the coconut milk, lime juice, and fish sauce, bring to the boil and simmer for 5 minutes.

3) Fry rice: Add the fried rice into the green curry chicken and mix well (gentle and quick as mushy rice is no fun). Plate up. Garnish with crispy shallot rings, red chillies, basil leaves and lime wedges.

Comments
One Response to “Green Curry Fried Rice with Chicken”
  1. Patrick says:

    You are moving up in the world my dear. Meat Meat Meat

Leave a Reply

