Cod Loin Goujons (aka Posh Fish Fingers)

For me, cod is a tricky fish to be enthusiastic about. It’s essentially rather bland and dries out into tasteless flakes the moment I turn my back to it. Which means no watching X Factor while cooking cod, making it an incredibly inconvenient fish.

I cannot resist a fish finger sarnie, or any sort of fried fish for that matter. They are also so quick and relatively fuss-free to make that I’m swearing off purchasing boxes of Bird’s Eye frozen sticks. Luckily I live close to fishmongers that stock fresh cod as frozen cod steaks are so disgusting that I’d rather chew on my toilet brush.

m_IMG_7307

m_IMG_7316
My “John & Edward” fish fingers. Uncanny resemblance me thinks

Cod Loin Goujons Recipe

450g fresh cod loin
150g Japanese panko breadcrumbs, or dried breadcrumbs
2 lemons, zest only
1½ tsp cayenne pepper
1½ tsp dried thyme
1½ tsp dried oregano
2 tsp cracked black pepper
1 tsp sea salt
50g plain flour
1 egg, white only
1½ litre vegetable oil, for deep frying

1) Place all the breadcrumbs, lemon zest, cayenne pepper, dried thyme, dried oregano, cracked black pepper and sea salt into a bowl and mix until well combined.
2) Slice the cod loin into consistent Goliath finger size (roughly 5cm in length and 1.5cm-2cm in width)
3) Beat egg white lightly in a bowl. Coat each Goliath finger size cod slice in flour, dust off the excess, dip into the egg white and coat in breadcrumbs.
4) Heat oil in deep heavy based pot to mid-high heat. Test the heat by dropping in a breadcrumb into the oil. If it immediately bubbles and rises up to the surface the oil is ready.
5) Fry 3-4 fingers at a time for 4-5 minutes turning frequently. Use a slotted spoon to lift out and drain on kitchen towel.
I like having them with ketchup and hot habanero sauce. And chips!

Comments
3 Responses to “Cod Loin Goujons (aka Posh Fish Fingers)”
  1. Sangeetha Rebello says:

    I want some!
    I love cod, but agree, it does dry out quick. Am finding the same goes with salmon unless its’ soaked in marinade and foil wrapped to bake. Got any more baked/fried fish recipes I can try? Do something with salmon please!

  2. Shmii says:

    Ooh not a big fan of salmon…unless it’s smoked, sashimi or tartare. Cooked salmon tastes kinda blah. I wanna try out this salmon and egg thing though. Will let you know how it goes!

  3. CJ Heinemann says:

    thanks.. trying this out with cod tonight.. needed something to do with panko =D

Leave a Reply

