Beetroot and Goat’s Cheese Risotto

I think my calves would taste like overcooked chicken drumsticks right now – hard, chewy and dry. Under any other circumstances I’d be feeling rather smug about them, being hard and all, but right now I’m walking like a bent compass and it’s very painful.

The new Parisian pied à terre is on the 3rd floor of a three hundred year old building in the oldest part of Paris – the Marais. So the streets are all beautifully pebbled, narrow, winding and completely impractical to navigate a removals van through. Forget finding parking on a Saturday evening. We had to park across the junction, two streets up, and struggle with sixty odd bags and boxes (and a completely stupid treadmill) through the crowds, two iron gates and up the three flights of stairs, only to go back down again to do it twenty nine times over again.

Evil staircase

Three days since the move and I can just start walking like normal again. I felt like I needed to do my body some good so I fed it beets. Lots of beets. And cheese. Lots of cheese.

Bodacious Beets

Beetroot and Goats Cheese Risotto

Now to get on with the unpacking…up-down-up-down-up-down on the silliest spiral staircase. Let’s hope all this hard work shows up on ye olde gluteus maximus and I can feel all smug again.

Super Simple Recipe

150g Arborio rice
1 yellow onion
1 bay leaf
1 fat garlic clove
1 litre veggie stock
150g beetroot, cubed into 1cm bits (I used the pre-cooked ones)
1 tsp ground white pepper
half inch slices of goats cheese (a couple per portion generally, but N&D likes to sneak in the whole log)

1. Set stock to boil. Once it starts to rumble, get it down to simmer.
2. Fine chop onion. Heat olive oil in pot. Sautee bay leaf and onions till onions are translucent.
3. Add in the rice and sautee till they go translucent around the edges.
4. If you want, pour in some white (I pinched some from the nice bottle N&D was enjoying). I still need to figure out what exactly the wine does to the risotto. So far, I just like the WHoooOosshhh sound it makes.
5. Add in stock ladle by ladle till it’s all absorbed and the rice has a nice bitey texture.
6. Stir in the cubed beetroot and a teaspoon of ground white pepper. Watch the risotto go all pretty and pink.
7. Serve up with the slices of goats cheese over.

Comments
2 Responses to “Beetroot and Goat’s Cheese Risotto”
  1. Oh you poor thing! Those walk ups are so hard!😦 My sister lives in one in London where there were 5 flights of stairs. Needless t say that by the last flight, I was on my hands and knees lol. The risotto looks delicious!😀

  2. Shmii says:

    5 flights!?! that would be a deal killer for me for sure!

Leave a Reply

