Salmon Tartare and Carpaccio Agrumes

I’ve had a good couple of days. Yesterday, my crab bisque was catastrophic- runny, bland, pale coloured, and I had a failed attempt at flambé-ing, but I am patting myself on the back for doing relatively well with the crab cleaving on my second attempt. I suppose it’s the familiarity, or perhaps knowing they’re not so nice to other sea creatures helped.

My crabs!

My failed flambé attempt (oh also, look at me in my whites!)

Today we each got a big, chubby salmon, all shiny and new. I got to bust out my MAC fileting knife and felt like the MacDaddy right up until I tried to blot my cured fat filets with paper towels and left them there covering the filets. Yeah, two hours later the papers were stuck to the filets and I tried scraping them off before the Chef could notice. Too late. He saw. “What eezz theez Reshmeeee!? You must do zee rinse again and dry again. Theez time try not to forget the tissue!”

Sam

So the carpaccio turned out nice and easy. I did cheat a wee bit by nicking some of my bench mate’s mayo and shallot ciseler but that’s allowed as I’m sous chef (I think).

Moutarde Violette - isn't the bottle so pretty? I wasn't feeling so pretty after having half a teaspoon of it for a taste. It burns. Like the sun.

Salmon Tartare

The rest of the avo was surprisingly fun. I was doing a bit of a headless chicken run around the two Garde Mangers and kitchens getting things together, hence missed out on marinating some of the filets in a fennel-parsley-mustard mix, but when we got to the Agrumes (Citrus fruit) I was humming along to my favourite Lady Gaga songs while peeling and “suprême”-ing (separating into segments) the oranges, grapefruit and pomelos (turns out to be the Batabi Lebu I used to have during my childhood summer in India from my dad’s little farmland). The Chef first shows us some funky cocktail thing with grenadine (ick!) that not many of us cared enough for and then he showed us his own recipe for a salad to go with meat or fish carpaccio/tartare type things. It was surprisingly amazing. I never thought oranges would go so well with olive oil, sesame oil, coriander, red onions and pepper. It had a light, refreshing, fresh-in-the-mouth taste. It’s also so very simple and easy and all things nice.

Agrume

Salmon Tartare

120g fresh, good quality salmon filets, chopped into small even cubes
Dijonnaise (making at home is easy. 1 egg yolk beaten with 1 tbsp mustard, pinch of piment and a pinch of salt. Gradually add and whisk in 1/2 cup of olive oil, 1/2 cup of groundnut oil. Make sure to add in very slowly as otherwise the mayo will split)
Half a lemon’s juice
Bit of dill
Bit of parsley
Bit of chives
4-5 capers
2 tomatoes, monder (skinned, and chopped into brunoise ie. small cubes)
1 courgette (green skin only, brunoise)
1/2 red pepper (deseeded, brunoise)
1/2 yellow pepper (deseeded, brunoise)
1 shallot (ciseler)
Pinch of Moutarde Violette
Extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp sesame oil
Pinch of piment espellete
Salt, pepper

1. Mix the chopped salmon filets with a tbsp of dijonnaise. Add salt and pepper to taste. Mix in some of the herbs, shallots and capers. Add in a dash of olive oil and the moutarde violette.
2. Mix the brunoise vegetables and remaining shallots with some herbs, olive oil, salt, pepper, lemon juice, piment espellete, and sesame oil.
3. Place a pastry ring on a plate and layer the salmon mix with the brunoise mix over the top. Garnish with herbs.

Agrume Salad

3 Oranges, peeled and supremed ie cut into segments
Olive oil
Red onion, ciseler
Pepper
Coriander, finely chopped

Arrange the orange segments in a circle on a plate. Drizzle olive oil around, sprinkle the red onions and coriander on top. Give it a few cracks of pepper. Yum

Comments
One Response to “Salmon Tartare and Carpaccio Agrumes”
  1. Bapi says:

    Love Fish. The preparation looks exotic. The description is easy reading and I shall say very interesting. Keep making many more new recipes.
    BAPI

Leave a Reply

